Raising awareness of neuroendocrine cancers around the world

NET Cancer Day

November 10


What are the different types of NET cancer?

There are a number of different types of NETs and they all have a slightly different way of presenting themselves, both in terms of symptoms and how they look under a microscope.

Examples of NETs

  • Carcinoids – lung, thymic, gastric, duodenal, pancreatic, small intestine, appendiceal, colon, rectal, ovarian and carcinoid tumors of unknown origin (unknown primary)
  • Functioning and Non-Functioning Pancreatic Tumors
  • Multiple Endocrine Neoplasias
  • Gastrinomas
  • Insulinomas
  • Glucagonomas
  • Pheochromocytomas
  • VIPomas
  • Somatostatinomas
  • Goblet Cell Carcinoids

The most common sites for NETs to occur are in the lung and digestive system, but they can also arise in other parts of the body such as the pancreas. The place where the NET first appears is called the primary site. However, the NET may spread and be found in other parts of the body e.g. the liver and lymph nodes, and if this occurs your doctor may refer to the NET as a secondary tumor or metastasis.

NETs are classified according to the area in which they are found:

  • Foregut tumors: found in the lungs, stomach, pancreas, gallbladder and duodenum
  • Midgut tumors: found in the jejunum, ileum, appendix and right colon
  • Hindgut tumors: found in the left colon and rectum